Uisce Éireann recognise the dedication and innovation shown by schools that are receiving the internationally recognised Green Flag for Water.

The primary and secondary schools who have achieved success in reducing their water consumption, spreading awareness about water issues and involving their community in their programme will be considered for the prestigious Water School of the Year award.

A shortlist of eight schools (four primary and four secondary) will be selected each year on a regional basis, the deadline for which is usually in the third week of March. The shortlisted schools will be those that display creativity and innovation in tackling the seven steps of their Green-Schools programme, in addition to reducing water use in their school.

Who can apply?

The award is open to all Green-Schools who are currently in the second year of their Water programme.

How to apply

Application for the award is made via the Green-Schools application form for the Green Flag: Water theme. The deadline for applications for the Water flag is in March of every academic year. All schools are required to have an assessment visit before sending in their application form.

How the winner is selected

Once all application forms have been submitted to the Green-Schools office a shortlist of eight finalists will be chosen: this shortlist will comprise of one secondary school and one primary school from each of the four Uisce Éireann regions:

  1. Dublin County (Dublin City, Dun-Laoghaire-Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal)
  2. Eastern/Midlands (Wicklow, Kildare, Laois, Carlow, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, Meath and Louth)
  3. Western region (Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Cavan, Monaghan, Galway City and County, Mayo, Clare and Roscommon)
  4. Southern Region (Kilkenny, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Cork City and County, Kerry and Limerick)

A judging process will then take place and two overall winners, primary and secondary, will be awarded with the six runners-up also receiving prizes.


The winning two schools (one primary and one secondary school) will each be awarded a prize-fund of €2000. Each of the six runners up will receive €750 each. Winners will be notified prior to an award ceremony, which will take place in May of every academic year.