Extensive power outages affecting treatment plants and pumping stations

Irish Water has been monitoring all of our water and wastewater supplies throughout the day, working with the 31 local authorities during Storm Ophelia.

At this stage, there are extensive power outages affecting treatment plants and pumping stations which for the most part have not impacted water supplies due to a combination of reservoir storage and backup generators on the more critical supplies. However, there are communities without water mainly in southern counties, on schemes without storage and due to burst mains where it is unsafe for crews to carry out repairs for the moment. 

We have a limited number of small supplies where precautionary Boil Water Notices have been notified due to treatment risks, associated with power failures affecting the disinfection of plants.

We also have some power outages at wastewater plants and pumping stations resulting in discharge of untreated or partially treated sewage. Rainfall levels have been manageable and we have no reports of serious flooding on our networks.

Irish Water are working closely with ESB to help prioritise those schemes where power restoration will be most urgent tomorrow in order to avoid loss of supply on a greater scale. 

Irish Water envisage some supply restrictions between 10pm this evening and 7am tomorrow to conserve water where necessary. We will endeavour to advise communities affected through website updates later this evening.

If you have issues with your water supply please view our Service and Supply map, visit Twitter at @IWCare or call us on 1850 278 278. We would appreciate if members of the public would only call if there is an emergency as there are staff shortages in our call centre in Cork today. If there is a high volume of calls there may be some delay in getting through, we are grateful for your patience and cooperation.


Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, Wicklow

Back to the top