Irish Water and Mayo County Council wish to notify all customers on the Lough Mask Regional Water Supply Scheme and associated Group Water Schemes that, following advice from the Health Service Executive, the boil water notice issued on the supply on the 2 September 2016 is now lifted with immediate effect.

Daily sampling at the source, at the treatment plant and on the network since the boil water notice was issued did not identify any presence of cryptosporidium.

An independent audit carried out by the Environmental Protection Agency at the plant confirmed that there were significant improvements to the filter management and control at the plant since their previous audit in May 2015. This was as a result of works undertaken at the plant over the past year and a half. It also stated there was no evidence of filter breakthrough in the lead up to the cryptosporidium detection.

Intensive investigations carried out by Irish Water and Mayo County Council on the plant mirror the findings of the independent EPA report. Irish Water and Mayo County Council have also carried out extensive separate investigations on the water source and network and no issues have been identified.

The Incident Management Team consider that comments contained in the independent EPA audit report confirm our own investigations on the robustness of the scheme and will give confidence to the public that the Lough Mask Regional Water Supply Scheme is a safe and reliable source of drinking water.

The HSE advised that there has been no confirmed cases of cryptosporidiosis in the community directly linked to the failed sample. However, in the interest of public health, Irish Water, Mayo County Council and the HSE will continue to closely monitor the scheme.

The areas served by the Lough Mask Regional Water Supply Scheme include the following towns:

Castlebar, Westport (see below), Claremorris, Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Knock, Ballindine, Balla, Kilmaine, Cong and their associated hinterlands.

Also included are those areas of Westport served from the Lough Mask Regional Water Supply scheme which included the following areas:

Sheeaun, Knockranny, Buckwaria and Clogher GWS, Westport Town, Westport Quay, Belclare, West Road, Newport Road, Carrowholly, Ballinlough GWS, Cloghans GWS, Rosmoney GWS, Ballinrobe Road.

Also included are the Group Water Schemes listed below:

Abbeyquarter, Annagh GWS Ballyhaunis, Ballinvilla No.1 GWS, Ballinvilla No.2 GWS, Ballyfarna/Magheraboy GWS, Ballynanerron GWS, Bekan GWS, Belcarra GWS, Bunadober GWS, Carramore GWS, Carras District GWS, Cartron GWS, Cave GWS, Clogher (Turlough) GWS, Cloonboy GWS, Clooncah GWS, Coogue GWS, Crinlin/Ross GWS, Cuillatinny/Liscat GWS, Curraghmore/Cloonkeen GWS, Derry/Knock GWS, Derrymore/Srah GWS, Devlis/Knockbrack GWS, Druimminroe West GWS, Friarsquarter GWS, Garryduff GWS, Gurteen (Westport) GWS, Gurteen / Carrowkeel  GWS, Horsepark GWS, Kilgarriff / Larganboy GWS, Kilkeeran GWS, Killawalla GWS, Knockatubber  GWS, Lecarrow GWS, Lehinch No. 2 GWS, Lisaniska GWS, Lissatava GWS, Lough Mask Road GWS, Meelickmore GWS, Rahard GWS, Rockfield / Turlough 1 GWS, Rockfield No. 2 GWS, Skehavard (1) GWS, Skehavard (2) GWS, Srah GWS, Sraheen (Aughagower) GWS, Treenlaur GWS (Tourmakeady), Turlough / High Meadow GWS.

Irish Water would like to thank Mayo County Council and the HSE for their participation in the Incident Management Team which worked tirelessly to bring this to a satisfactory resolution. Irish Water and Mayo County Council also acknowledges the patience, cooperation and assistance of the general public during the period of the boil water notice and greatly regrets any inconvenience caused to householders, the farming and the business communities.

The Irish Water Customer Contact Centre (1850 278 278) is available to answer customer queries in relation to this water notice. Further information is available on the Mayo County Council website here.


Back to the top