Irish Water, Ireland’s national water utility responsible for providing and developing water and wastewater services throughout Ireland, this week awarded Value Water Awards to 8 Tidy Towns Committees who have shown exceptional commitment to water conservation. The Awards were presented at the Regional Tidy Towns awards ceremonies that took place in Skerries, Co. Dublin, Clonegal, Co. Carlow and Letterkenny, Co. Donegal this week. This is the first year the Value Water Award has been presented.

The winners of the Value Water Awards in the Small Town category are Abbey, Co. Galway, Carrigart, Co. Donegal, Ballintubber, Co. Roscommon and Emly, Co. Tipperary. The four winners in the Large Towns category were Sligo, Co. Sligo, Westport, Co. Mayo, Greystones, Co. Wicklow and Maynooth, Co. Kildare. Each winner received a prize of €1,000.

Initiatives implemented by the winners to conserve water included significant reductions in daily water consumption, projects to educate local school children to the importance of conserving water, work by local schools to introduce water saving measures, installation of water butts and rain water harvesting.

Commenting on the Value Water Awards, Dr. Roisin Bradford of Irish Water said, ‘Irish Water is very proud to sponsor the Value Water Awards which we hope will lead the way in inspiring water conservation at a local level. The work carried out by Tidy Towns Committees across the country is inspirational and the inclusion of young people in the committees is something Irish Water very much identifies with. Many of the projects undertaken by the winning towns have involved a great effort by local school children. Irish Water already works closely with the Green Schools Initiative which educates children on the importance of water conservation and with the Value Water Awards hopes to further assist communities in cutting back their water usage.

Educating young people to the importance of water conservation means we can assist in minimising our impact on the environment and protecting our water resources for future generations

Clare, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Meath, Offaly, Tipperary, Westmeath

Back to the top