Skerries wins a host of prizes including recognition for its water conservation efforts

Skerries Tidy Towns group in Dublin today received the Irish Water National Value Water Award at the Tidy Towns Awards ceremony held at the Helix in DCU. Skerries also took home a range of awards including being crowned Ireland’s Tidiest Town. The Value Water Awards are about recognizing communities that are reducing their water consumption, raising awareness about water issues and protecting their marine / aquatic environments. Skerries Tidy Towns are involved in rain water harvesting projects, Green Home Water surveys in schools, promotion of water conservation in the community and water safety activities.

Value Water Awards were awarded on a regional level in 2015 and this is the first year a National Value Water Award has been awarded.

Speaking about the awards, Annabel FitzGerald, Senior Communications Officer, Irish Water said, “The Value Water award is about raising awareness of the importance of mindful water consumption within communities and is about reconnecting communities with water, creating a greater understanding of where water comes from and where wastewater goes to. It is wonderful that Skerries, which as of today is Ireland’s Tidiest Town, is leading the way in its efforts to conserve and educate in relation to water.

She added, “We are proud to partner with Tidy Towns and sponsor the Value Water Awards which we hope will lead the way in inspiring water conservation at a local level. Having the opportunity to recognise these communities today is terrific and I would like to congratulate all those who have entered the Tidy Towns competition and the Value Water Awards.”

In addition to the National Award, Value Water Awards are presented to 8 regional winners (four villages and four towns). The Regional Value Water Awards winners, who will be presented their prizes at the Regional Tidy Towns Awards ceremonies in October and November are: Coolagown in Cork; Milltown in Galway; Williamstown in Galway; Tuamgraney in Clare; Abbeyleix in Laois; Ferns in Wexford; Cobh in Cork and Skerries in Dublin.

Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, Wicklow

Back to the top