The Tidy Towns Committee of Emly, Co. Tipperary has received a Value Water Award at the Tidy Towns Regional Awards Ceremony for the South East Region, in Clonegal, Co. Carlow. Irish Water, Ireland’s national water utility responsible for providing and developing water and wastewater services throughout Ireland, sponsored the Value Water Award, which recognises communities that have made a commitment to saving water. This is the first year the Value Water Award has been given.

Emly is one of four towns across Ireland that won the Award in the Small Towns category. As part of the work done by the Tidy Towns Committee in Emly, a 40% reduction in water usage from the mains has been achieved in the last 3 years, 19 water butts are currently installed in the village, a rainwater tank has been installed at the Community Hall for the toilets, a waste prevention leaflet including water conservation measures was produced and distributed in the community and the Committee worked closely with the local school to save water, achieving a reduction from 12 litres per student per day in 2013 to 7 litre per day in 2015.

Accepting the Value Water Award Seamus Cunningham, Secretary of the Emly, Tidy Towns Committee said, ‘‘On behalf of the Committee I am delighted to accept our Value Water Award. A large number of people can take responsibility for this Award and already we are seeing excellent examples of the commitment to water conservation in our town.’

Commenting on the Awards, Aisling Buckley, Irish Water Regional Information Officer for the Southern Region said, ‘Irish Water is very proud to sponsor these Awards which we hope will lead the way in inspiring change in conserving water at a local level. It is especially heartening to see the work carried out by young people in the communities that won these awards. Educating young people to the importance of water conservation means we can assist in minimising our impact on the environment and protecting our water resources for future generations.’

There were four Value Water Award winners in the Small Town category; these were Abbey, Co. Galway, Carrigart, Co. Donegal, Ballintubber, Co. Roscommon and Emly, Co. Tipperary. The four winners in the Large Towns category were Sligo, Co. Sligo, Westport, Co. Mayo, Greystones, Co. Wicklow and Maynooth, Co. Kildare. Each winner received a prize of €1,000.


Back to the top