Irish Water Green-Schools of the Year recognises innovation and creativity among schools that apply for the An Taisce Green Flag for Water in each academic year. Primary and secondary schools who have achieved success in reducing their water consumption, spreading awareness about water issues and involving their community in their Green-Schools Water programme will be considered for the award.

A shortlist of eight schools – four primary and four secondary, will be selected each year on a regional basis. Schools will be shortlisted based on their application for the Green Flag award, the deadline for which is usually in the third week of March of each year. The Irish Water Primary School of the Year and the Irish Water Secondary School of the Year will then be selected from this shortlist.

Competition Detail

The award is open to all Green-Schools who are currently in the second year of their Water programme.

Application for the award is made via the Green-Schools application form for the Green Flag: Water theme, available to view here. The deadline for applications for the Water flag is in March of every academic year. All schools are required to have an assessment visit before sending in their application form.

Schools that display creativity and innovation in tackling the seven steps of their Green-Schools programme – in addition to reducing water use in their school - will be shortlisted.

Once all application forms have been submitted to the Green-Schools office a shortlist of eight finalists will be chosen: this shortlist will comprise of one secondary school and one primary school from each of the four Irish Water regions: Dublin County (Dublin City, Dun-Laoghaire-Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal). Eastern/Midlands (Wicklow, Kildare, Laois, Carlow, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, Meath and Louth). Western region (Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Cavan, Monaghan, Galway City and County, Mayo, Clare and Roscommon). Southern Region (Kilkenny, Wexford, Waterford, Tipperary, Cork City and County, Kerry and Limerick). A judging process will then take place and two overall winners, primary and secondary, will be awarded with the six runners-up also receiving prizes.

The winning two schools (one primary and one secondary school) will each be awarded a prize-fund of €2000. Each of the six runners up will receive €750 each.
Winners will be notified prior to an award ceremony, which will take place in May of every academic year.
Back to the top